Facebook Memorial and Account Deletion August 14, 2019

facebook memorial

When a loved one passes, trying to take care of his or her online accounts can be difficult. However, you have several options regarding your loved one’s Facebook page. If you are an immediate family member, you can request that the account be removed permanently or you can change it to a Facebook memorial.

When an account is memorialized, the profile remains online, but no one will be able to actually log into the account. A memorialized account allows friends to post sympathy messages on the deceased’s wall. Facebook also puts “Remembering” in front of the deceased user’s name.

In order to have an account memorialized, you’ll need to provide the following information:

  • Your email address
  • The link to the deceased person’s Facebook profile page
  • The full name on the deceased person’s account
  • The date of death
  • A copy of their obituary or death certificate
  • Once you have this information, complete this Facebook form

If you would like the profile deleted instead of memorialized, Facebook needs a request from next of kin. Once requested, Facebook will permanently delete the account and all of its information.

In order to have an account deleted, you’ll need to provide the following information:

  • Proof that you are an immediate family member
  • The link to the deceased person’s Facebook profile page
  • The full name on the deceased person’s account
  • Their date of death
  • A copy of their death certificate
  • Once you have this information, complete this Facebook form

If you have special instructions for how you would like your Facebook to be handled after death, we suggest creating a digital will that includes important account usernames, passwords, and what you would like done with your accounts.

For more information on how to cancel services after the death of a loved one, read our recent blog post.